Editorial / Comparison

iPhone games four people can actually play together online

Search for this and you mostly get games where four people crowd around one phone, games that are really two-player, and games that are only co-op on PC. This list is the ones where four separate people, on four separate devices, in four separate places, can genuinely play together.

By Alulim Games Verified:

The short answer

Five games state on their own App Store listing that four people can play together online on iPhone or iPad: Bloons TD 6, Human: Fall Flat, Minecraft, Pippin Plaza and Terraria. Terraria supports up to eight; the other four top out at four.

Four of the five are paid apps. Pippin Plaza is the free one, and it shows ads. Minecraft's online mode needs a free Xbox Live account.

The most common mistake in lists on this topic is Stardew Valley, which has co-op on desktop and console but not on iPhone. Apple's own listing says so: “multiplayer functionality not supported”.

Disclosure: Alulim Games publishes Pippin Plaza, one of the five verified entries below. It is listed alphabetically alongside the others, judged against the same criteria, and its monetisation is described in the same words we use for everything else. Where another game does something better, this page says so.

What had to be true to make the list

The criteria were fixed before the games were chosen. A game is in the verified table only if a first-party source states all four of these.

  • It runs natively on iPhone or iPad. Not streamed, not remote-played from a computer, not console-only.
  • The multiplayer is with other people. Not bots, not asynchronous turns, not leaderboards.
  • The multiplayer is online. Four people in four different places, not four people around one screen.
  • Four players fit in one session. A game capped at two is a good game and the wrong answer to this question.

Every classification below quotes the sentence it rests on. Where a listing establishes one half of the test but not the other, the game goes in the second section with the gap named, rather than being quietly promoted or quietly dropped.

Verified: four players, online, on iOS

Listed alphabetically. Not a ranking, and no scores. Verified 2026-09-23 against each game's App Store listing.
Game Seller Online players How you connect Local play too? Solo Price Focus
Bloons TD 6 Ninja Kiwi Limited Up to 4 online Public or private co-op games Not stated Yes — full offline single player Paid — US$6.99 Tower defence strategy
Human: Fall Flat 505 Games (US), Inc. Up to 4 online Online multiplayer lobbies Not stated Yes — the campaign is playable alone Paid — US$4.99 Physics puzzle platformer
Minecraft: Play with Friends! Mojang AB Up to 4 online Free Xbox Live account required Yes Yes Paid — US$6.99 Sandbox survival and building
Pippin Plaza: Online Co-op Alulim Games 2–4 online Private room code No Yes — you control two Pippins Free — ads, optional IAP Co-op puzzle platformer
Terraria 505 Games (US), Inc. Up to 8 online Device-to-device hosted game, or a PC dedicated server Yes — local Wi-Fi Yes Paid — US$4.99 Sandbox adventure

The five, with the evidence

Bloons TD 6

Ninja Kiwi Limited · App Store listing · Paid — US$6.99

Bloons TD 6 supports up to 4 online on iPhone and iPad. The listing also states single player works offline.

Co-Op! Play every map and mode with up to 3 other players in public or private games.

App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23

Human: Fall Flat

505 Games (US), Inc. · App Store listing · Paid — US$4.99

Human: Fall Flat supports up to 4 online on iPhone and iPad. Closest in shape to a co-op puzzle platformer among the paid entries.

Online multiplayer for up to 4 players transforms the way Human Fall Flat is played.

App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23

Minecraft: Play with Friends!

Mojang AB · App Store listing · Paid — US$6.99

Minecraft: Play with Friends! supports up to 4 online on iPhone and iPad. Realms Plus is a separate paid subscription for a private server with up to 10 friends; the 4-player figure above is the free-account tier.

Multiplayer servers allow you to play with up to 4 players online with a free Xbox Live account

App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23

Pippin Plaza: Online Co-op

Alulim Games · App Store listing · Free — ads, optional IAP

Pippin Plaza: Online Co-op supports 2–4 online on iPhone and iPad. Published by Alulim Games, who also publish this guide.

Play online with 2 to 4 players using private room codes, or take on the quest campaign solo by controlling two Pippins.

App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23

Terraria

505 Games (US), Inc. · App Store listing · Paid — US$4.99

Terraria supports up to 8 online on iPhone and iPad. Comfortably covers four, and goes beyond it. Online is hosted from a device or a PC server rather than a matchmaking service.

MULTIPLAYER – Play with up to 7 friends on Local Wifi or Online via device-device Wifi hosted games or through the Mobile Terraria Dedicated Server for PC

App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23

Close, but the listing does not settle it

These four have online co-op on iOS. In each case a first-party source leaves out the specific detail this page turns on, so they are not in the verified table. The gap is named rather than guessed at.

Crossy Road Castle

Hipster Whale Pty Ltd · App Store listing

Gap: Player count confirmed, internet play not confirmed first-party.

The official site states 1–4 players, and the App Store listing says you can “connect together across multiple devices (or any mix that suits you)”. Neither states whether those devices must share a network. Requires an Apple Arcade subscription.

Genshin Impact

COGNOSPHERE PTE. LTD. · App Store listing

Gap: Online co-op confirmed, party size not stated first-party.

The App Store listing says “Team up with friends across various platforms”, which establishes online cross-platform co-op, but it states no player count, and HoYoverse's front page does not either.

Spaceteam

Henry Smith Inc. · App Store listing

Gap: Player count confirmed, internet play not confirmed first-party.

“A cooperative party game for 2 to 8 players… Each player needs a mobile device.” The listing never says the devices can be in different places, and the developer's site carries no detail.

Sky: Children of the Light

thatgamecompany · App Store listing

Gap: Online confirmed, but it is a shared world rather than a 4-player session.

The listing describes collaborating with other players in a shared online world. It states no fixed party size, so it does not answer “can my four friends play together” in the way the other entries do.

Do not confuse these with 4-player online co-op

Every game below turns up in searches for this phrase. None of them is four people playing together online on an iPhone, and the reason is different each time.

Why each one does not answer this question. Quotes are from the App Store listing, checked 2026-09-23.
GameWhy notEvidence
Stardew Valley No multiplayer at all on iOS Apple's own listing ends with: “Note: Features new 1.6 update story content, multiplayer functionality not supported.” The desktop and console versions do have co-op; the iPhone version does not.
1 2 3 4 Player Games Same device only “If you want to play fun mini games with your friends all together on the same device, this is a great game for you!” Everyone has to be holding the same phone.
Link 4 - Online Two players, not four The “4” is four-in-a-row, the winning line, not the player count. It is a two-player Connect Four game with an online mode.
Among Us! Online, but not cooperative “Play online with 4-15 players… one or more random players among the Crew are Impostors bent on killing everyone.” Some players are working against the others by design.
Great Minds – Think Alike Online, but scored individually “2-6 Players” with a real online mode, but each player is scored on how well they predict another player, so it is a party guessing game rather than co-op.
Fire and Water Online Co-op Online, but exactly two players Built around one fire character and one water character. Genuine online co-op, and a good pick for a pair, but it does not scale to four.
Pepelo - Adventure CO-OP Game Online, but exactly two players Real-time online co-op through a room code, for two players only.
BOKURA Online, but exactly two players “An exclusively two-player puzzle adventure.” It cannot even be played alone.
Level Devil - NOT A Troll Game Local only, two players The listing offers a “Local 2-player mode to share the suffering” and no online mode.

Which one fits your group?

If…Look atWhy
You want a puzzle or platforming gameHuman: Fall Flat or Pippin PlazaBoth are built around physical co-operation rather than combat. Human: Fall Flat is paid and physics-driven; Pippin Plaza is free, room-code based and quest-structured.
You would rather pay once than play a free, ad-supported gameBloons TD 6, Human: Fall Flat, Minecraft or TerrariaAll four are paid downloads. Pippin Plaza is the only entry in this table whose monetisation explicitly includes advertising; it is free, and an optional purchase removes the automatic ads.
You want the largest world to shareMinecraft or TerrariaBoth are open-ended sandboxes with far more content than a level-based co-op game, and Terraria supports up to eight players rather than four.
Your group is scattered and you just want them in quicklyPippin PlazaA six-character room code with no platform account. Minecraft needs a free Xbox Live account first; Terraria needs someone to host.
You want to play alone as often as with friendsBloons TD 6Its listing states single player works offline, so the game does not depend on anyone else being available.

Questions people actually ask

Which iPhone games support four players online?

Of everything we checked, five state it on their own App Store listing: Bloons TD 6, Human: Fall Flat, Minecraft, Pippin Plaza and Terraria. Terraria goes to eight; the other four top out at four.

Is Stardew Valley co-op on iPhone?

No. Apple's listing for the iOS version ends with “multiplayer functionality not supported”. The PC and console versions do have co-op, which is why it keeps appearing in mobile co-op lists by mistake.

What is the difference between local and online multiplayer here?

Local multiplayer means everyone shares one device or one network. Online multiplayer means four people in four different places can play together. Many of the top results for this search are local-only apps, including “1 2 3 4 Player Games”, whose own listing says “all together on the same device”.

Are there free options?

Pippin Plaza is free to download, with ads and optional in-app purchases. The other four verified entries are paid apps: Bloons TD 6 is US$6.99, Minecraft is US$6.99, Human: Fall Flat and Terraria are US$4.99 each. Prices are U.S. storefront figures checked on 2026-09-23.

Do any of them need an account or subscription?

Minecraft's four-player online mode requires a free Xbox Live account, and its Realms Plus private server is a separate paid subscription. Crossy Road Castle requires an Apple Arcade subscription. The others need no account beyond the App Store.

Can any of these be played alone?

Yes, all five verified entries have a single-player route. Bloons TD 6 states its single player works offline, and Pippin Plaza's campaign can be played solo by controlling two characters.

If you came here from PICO PARK specifically, the guide to co-op puzzle games on iPhone for PICO PARK players compares nine native iOS titles on player count, online play and pricing, and PICO PARK vs Pippin Plaza sets those two games against each other in detail.

Primary sources

Each game above links to its own App Store listing, which is where its classification comes from. Other first-party sources used, all checked 2026-09-23:

App Store listings change, and player counts change with updates. If something here is out of date, tell us at support@alulimgames.com and we will re-check it.

Pippin Plaza, the free entry on this list

Online co-op for 2 to 4 players over a private room code, 53 handmade quests plus a tutorial, or solo by controlling two Pippins. Free to download, with ads and optional purchases.